Off Duty Border Patrol Agent Charged With Furnishing Alcohol To Minors At Laredo Halloween Party

0

Laredo police arrested an off-duty U.S. Border Patrol agent and charged her with furnishing alcohol to minors after officers broke up a large Halloween party at her Olimpia Bay Road home, according to other local news sources.

file_00000000eac081f5b5a2df9f959820f8

LAREDO, Texas – An off-duty U.S. Border Patrol agent was arrested and charged with furnishing alcohol to minors after Laredo police broke up a large Halloween party at her home, according to other local news sources citing the Laredo Police Department.

Officers were called around 9:44 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 31, to the 500 block of Olimpia Bay Road about loud music and a large gathering, and initial calls indicated possible underage drinking, according to other local news sources. After officers dispersed the crowd, they found large amounts of empty alcohol containers along with numerous unopened containers throughout the property, according to other local news sources.

Police identified the homeowner as Irma Jimenez, 47, an off-duty U.S. Border Patrol agent. After an investigation at the scene, Jimenez was arrested and charged with furnishing alcohol to minors, a Class A misdemeanor, according to other local news sources.

Jail records list her last name as Diaz, and she was released Nov. 1 after posting a $3,000 bond, according to other local news sources. Police did not say how many minors were at the party.

What Texas law says

Under the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, a person commits an offense by buying alcohol for or giving alcohol to anyone under 21, unless the person is the minor’s parent, guardian or spouse and is visibly present, according to the code. The offense is a Class A misdemeanor, or a state jail felony if a minor who drank the alcohol then causes serious injury or death to someone.

If a person convicted is placed on community supervision for furnishing alcohol at a gathering involving alcohol abuse such as binge drinking, the judge must order 20 to 40 hours of community service, an alcohol awareness program and a 180-day driver’s license suspension, according to the code.

A charge is an accusation, and anyone charged is presumed innocent unless proven guilty in court.

Read our earlier coverage: Your Halloween Weekend Guide For Eagle Pass Del Rio And Crystal City

Sources: Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, Chapter 106

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *