Election Night Drama in Maverick County Democratic Primary

img 5600 1

In an electrifying night that will undoubtedly echo through the halls of Maverick County’s political landscape, the Democratic Primary Election results have revealed a dramatic unfolding of events that could reshape the future of local governance. As the dust settles on this fiercely contested battlefield, let’s dive into the exhilarating details that marked this unforgettable election night.

Commissioner Showdown Pct. 1 & Pct. 3

The race for Commissioner Pct. 1 saw Gerardo “Jerry” Morales triumphantly securing a monumental victory over Yolanda P. Ramon, with a staggering 1231 votes to 506. Morales’s win, marked by strategic campaigning and community outreach, has sent waves of excitement and anticipation throughout his supporters.

In Commissioner Pct. 3, Olga Ramos emerged victorious in a nail-biting clash against David R. Saucedo, garnering 1074 votes to Saucedo’s 932. Ramos’s win signifies a potent shift in the political dynamics of the precinct, showcasing her resilience and the profound support from her constituency.

Constable Pct. 1 & Pct. 4

The Constable Pct. 1 race was a testament to the democratic spirit, with Cecy Maldonado leading the pack with 695 votes, followed closely by Ignacio “Nacho” Vasquez with 484 votes, and Jesus “Jesse” Becerra trailing with 458 votes. Maldonado will be headed into a runoff with Vasquez.

Joe “Mike” Beattie’s triumph over Celso A. Martinez in Constable Pct. 4, with a commanding 831 votes to 467, exemplifies Beattie’s enduring popularity and the community’s faith in his capabilities to serve and protect.

District Attorney 293rd Judicial Court

Roberto Serna earns the District Attorney position of the 293rd Judicial Court, with a decisive 3195 votes to Ponce’s 2195. Serna’s victory is not just a win but a statement—a call to continue forward with the progress the DA’s Office has made.

Sheriff & Tax Assessor-Collector

Sheriff Tom Schmerber retained his badge in an overwhelming display of public support, amassing 3849 votes against J.S. “Chava” Rios’s 2274. Schmerber’s re-election signifies a strong endorsement of his policies and leadership by the community.

The race for Tax Assessor-Collector was a roller-coaster of emotions, with Asalia Casares winning the hearts and votes of 2350 citizens, closely followed by Ruben Montemayor with 2256 votes, leaving Leeroy Euresti in the wake with 1063 votes. Casares and Montemayor are headed to a runoff.

Justice 4th Court of Appeals, Plc. 2

In the judicial arena, Velia J. Meza secured the position for Justice 4th Court of Appeals, Plc. 2, defeating Beth Watkins in a closely watched battle with 2338 votes to 1920. Meza’s triumph is a testament to her legal acumen and the trust placed in her by the electorate to uphold justice and integrity.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *